That’s a wrap!

Hey friends, 

My name is Toryn.   I’m a 4th year med student currently rotating in Michigan.  Prior to that I was the frontman for a rock band called FUEL and touring lead vocalist for Apocalyptica from Finland, among others.   My girlfriend and I are student pilots that recently became SportCruiser owners because we wanted our own plane to train in and we’d researched how great SportCruisers were to train in.  We found one in Ohio in Barnstormers that had a somewhat rocky past including damage from a prior incident in which the canopy had opened during flight which apparently caused the owner at the time to set down off field which caused some damage to the wings.  This had all been repaired prior to us seeing it for the first time.  After hiring an an aircraft mechanic with Rotax experience to fly down and do a pre buy inspection for us, we decided to negotiate a fair price off the asking and became the new owners of N85PB.  
     There were some immediate changes that we wanted to make.  The plane had no ADSB and it was still using the Garmin 496 GPS.  After reviewing all the options, we decided to swap the 327 transponder for the 345 for the ADSB in/out.  We swapped the 496 GPS for the touchscreen Aera 660 which also works with our SL40 radio.   The colors weren’t really us, so we decided to wrap the plane in fluorescent red and carbon fiber vinyl after researching options vs paint.  New weight and balance planned but we feel the additions will be minimal.  We weren’t able to find a 3rd Gen NLG, but install a 2nd Gen we’d found online in the interim, as the 1st Gen was bent and we didn’t have any confidence in that whatsoever.  Lastly, we have removed the original lights which were strobe only. (No navs).  We will be replacing them with the powerburst lights described by ShawnM in prior posts here.  He has been great in guiding our decisions in revisions.  Anyway, great to meet you all!  Enjoy the photos of our recent changes! -TG