CONVERTING FROM "SLSA" TO "ELSA"

By way of introduction, I am a high-time pilot (5000+), rated for fixed-wings & helicopters. Love the forum.

I am buying a SportCruiser for my sons. I chose SportCruiser because it was the most similar in flying characteristics to my Cirrus SR-22. I also think it is the best looking LSA on the market.

In the past, I've built an experimental Velocity 173 (I no longer own it, it's now often used outside Velocity's tent at airshows as a demo). I found owning and maintaining an experimental a breeze. What I liked most was not beholding to a manufacturer for LOAs. My other Light Sport is an FAA certified plane (Ercoupe), a winner at Oshkosh in 2003. I modified that plane using 337 forms and STCs - not difficult.  

Since my experience in the LSA market is limited, I have a basic question. Do you think converting a SportCruiser from SLSA to ELSA would be detrimental to its market value? What about other disadvantages? It seems to me that it would bypass the "Czech-delay" for mods, etc.

Thoughts?

Tom

Front Left.jpg

On the Line 3.jpg

Velocity on Taxiway.jpg

DenverTom

Great Idea !

going Experimental E-LSA has many advantages,  but is not for everyone.  

As I expect you may already know,  Experimental aircraft may NOT be used for hire,   and they may (or may not,  depending on the aircraft equipment and Maintenance logs and practices), experience a potential decrease in Market Value - to SOME Pilots who don't "like" Experimental aircraft.   

Many Pilots,  however,  prefer Experimental Aircraft for the flexibility and freedom of equipping the aircraft with the latest FAA recommended safety equipment,  such as ADS-B OUT and IN,   Angle of Attack measurement and Display,   State of the Art NAV/COM equipment,  more...

In the USA FAA Regulated Airspace,  an E-LSA must always REMAIN a Light Sport Aircraft (1320 lbs limit,  120 Knots CAS limit,  Fixed Ground Adjustable propeller,  more)