New Member with Old Questions

Hi Everyone,

I recently joined the forum to learn about the SportCruiser. I'm a returning student with 51 hours. My training abruptly ended in 2015, after my flight school's two C172 were involved in accidents at around the same time. I waited 4 months for the planes to return before giving up and moving on.  I'm now in a different state (Central Massachusetts) and bitten by the aviation bug again. It seems a SC would fit my training and post training mission (day trips down to Cape Cod or up the Maine coast) and I've been looking at used SCs.  

I've spent the past week reading your many posts and have learned that there are issues with "First Gen" SportCrusiers, which explains their more "accessible" prices. I'm wondering if the members of this community could help by pointing out what they see when they come across an ad for one of these early planes. Do you see a lof of problems (that a first time owner should avoid) or do you see a great deal/opportunity? What would it roughly take (time and money) to bring one of these planes to current personal/legal requirements (ELSA conversion, fuel lines, landing gear, ads-b)? I'm interested in future IRF training for safety, so IFR equiped is important even if not IFR capable. Also, night capabilities would be nice.  

Should I be looking at 1960s/70s C172s and PA28s instead?

Thank you for your advice. 

Jose

Hi Jose, Welcome to the forum!