Hello, I'm new to the Group. Thanks for the add.

Welcome, Joe!  Good luck on the training and let us know how it's coming along!  The Piper Sport/Sportcruiser is a spectacular aircraft to fly, and I'm sure you'll enjoy training in it!

Keep an eye on Barnstormers, Controller, or Trade-a-Plane for available aircraft.  You can also reach out to Patrick Arnzen at Thrust Flight as he was the former distributor, knows the plane inside and out, and has a very good connection to aircraft for sale.

One thing for sure - you're on the better side of the country as there seems to be a lot more Sportcruisers/Piper Sport aircraft on the Eastern half of the country vs. the Western half!

22 hours ago, Torkman70 said:

I'm a new student pilot training in a pipersport.  I'm currently in the market for one as well.  I live just North of Memphis, TN.

Joe

Welcome Joe and good luck with your training. I bought my SportCruiser about half way through my training and finished up in my own plane. I was glad to do it this way, no need for any "transition training" after I got my SPL. :D

As RTK stated, keep and eye on the usual suspects for aircraft sales. All 3 websites are a great source for used aircraft. Ask any question you have as someone here has the answer for you. Good luck in your search for a plane as well, they are awesome to own and fly. 

DeltaFox

excellent post on the LSAERONAUT Blog.  Agree.

The details on wiring a Garmin GDL-39 ADS-B IN Traffic and Weather Receiver to a Garmin 696 GPS Display are well documented on the SCFLIER Forum. 

My CRUZ aircraft is (since 2016) Experimental E-LSA and the GDL-39 wired interface to 696 GPS Display works well.   A Proven wired 696 Display interface.  Very useful and Easy to Do.   Having the local TRAFFIC and WEATHER displayed on the INSTRUMENT PANEL Mounted 696 GPS is awesome !